Four weeks of finals

THE Golden Rivers Football Netball League will revert back to a four-week finals series following feedback from clubs.

Once a common feature of the draw, two of the past three finals series have involved the second semi-final occurring on a Saturday and the first semi-final the next day.

The last time a four-week finals series occurred was in 2016 due to Wakool being in recess.

Clubs successfully moved a motion at last month's league annual meeting to revert back to one final per weekend, with the finals to begin on Saturday, August 25.

Although next year's draw is still to be approved, the 18-round season will begin on Saturday, April 7, with the grand final to occur on Saturday, September 15.

Coaches confirmed

A NEW group of coaches will oversee more than half of the Golden Rivers Football Netball League teams' football premiership campaigns in 2018.

The league's nine clubs have confirmed their coaches for next season, with this season's top three sides reappointing their coaches for another year.

Paul Grayling will be in charge of defending premiers, Wandella for a third consecutive season, with 2017 grand finalists, Ultima also appointing Jack O'Rourke for a third year.

Grant Ford will continue to coach 2017 preliminary finalists, Nullawil, with Tony Mudge (Moulamein) the only other retained coach from this season.

Wedderburn premiership player, Daniel Gash will return to Hay to oversee the Lions' premiership chances, with 2016 E.G. Hunt Medallist, Bryden Morison to oversee Murrabit's campaign in 2018, replacing Hugh Foott.

Adam Pollock - who played in Wakool's 2006 premiership and coached the side to the 2013 title - returns to the league after being appointed as Quambatook's coach.

Wayne Wishart replaces Michael Rowe as Macorna's coach, with Reagan Hamilton and Chris Looms to oversee Wakool's 2018 campaign.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide