Shire facilities for e-waste

ELECTRONIC waste - also known as e-waste - will be banned from kerbside rubbish bins and landfills throughout Victoria from Monday next week e-waste.

Gannawarra Shire Council has responded by establishing facilities at its Kerang and Cohuna transfer stations to enable residents to deposit unwanted electrical items.

Any item with a plug, battery or cord that is no longer working or wanted is described as e-waste.

The category, which includes computers, mobile phones, microwaves, printers, televisions, heaters and gaming consoles, is growing three times faster than general municipal waste in Australia.

The introduction of a July 1 ban was announced last year by the Victorian Government, which provided funding of $15 million to help local councils upgrade their storage and collection facilities for waste form.

The aim of the change to collection practices is to recover more of the valuable materials in e-waste that can be safely removed and reused, and to reduce the environmental impact of dumping items like televisions, phones and laptops into landfill sites, according to the Gannawarra Shire.

The council has constructed new e-waste collection sheds at Cohuna and Kerang transfer stations.

Both transfer stations accept any electronic item that uses batteries to operate or has a cord and plug.

A $25 charge applies for computer monitors, laptops or televisions, as these items contain toxic chemicals – such as barium, phosphor, lead and hexavalent chromium – which require special handling.

Improvements have also been made at the Quambatook transfer station to accommodate e-waste and recycling items and a new recycling trailer has been set up at the Lalbert transfer station, the council said.

Further details regarding the shire's e-waste and other recycling services are available online at or through the Loddon Mallee Waste and Recovery Centre app.